Sunday, June 20, 2021
banner shadow

MRA Divisions

Mineral Resources Authority (MRA) Structure

The Authority is structured into four divisions with a Special Projects Unit within the Managing Directors Office. MRA Divisions are;

  • Corporate Services Division (CSD) - the division contains four branches; Assets & Sales, Human Resources, Finance & Accounts, and Information Communication Technology. The division have one Executive Manager and three Managers, at one Manager per branch. 
  • Development Coordination Division (DCD) - DCD have four branches; Exploration Coordination, Mining Project Coordination, Sustainable Development, and Small Scale Mining. The division also has a small Gender Coordination Unit that deals with gender participation/issues, for all three branches. The divisional functions ensures that exploration and mining activities in Papua New Guinea are done within the regulatory and policy framework, with benefits from these activities being distributed fairly and transparently to all beneficiaries and stakeholders. The division is headed by a Executive Manager (EM) and Managers for each branches.
  • Geological Survey Division (GSD) - Geological Survey's primary function is to carry out earth sciences research and studies and process the field data to assist and promote exploration, geological  and related activities in the mineral sector. It also manages the MRA Library which is is a despository of all exploration and mining; and other earth science related activities in Papua New Guinea. The GSD has five main branches and they are Geological Mapping & Exploration Branch; Geophysical Mapping Branch; Geotechnical Mapping & Hydro-geological Branch; Library and the Marketing Information & GIS. The GSD have one Executive Manager (EM) and five Managers, at one per branch.
  • Regulatory Operations Division (ROD) - This division contains the Tenements and Inspectorate Branches. They carry out regulatory functions of exploration and mining in Papua New Guinea.The division is managed by one Executive Manager, a Tenements Registrar, and a Chief Mines Inspector.
Special Projects Unit (SPU) - One of the small units but dealing with a significant task of administering and management of all special projects, including donor funded projects. The unit is managed by a Manager who reports directly to the Managing Director